Michigan Flood Victims Urged to Apply for Federal Disaster Assistance

Warning: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/cluster-sites/6495/f/floodlist.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/content-admin/lib/content/acf/includes/api/api-template.php on line 499

Residents of Macomb, Oakland and Wayne counties who suffered damages to their dwellings in the August 11-13 storms and flooding are encouraged to register for federal disaster assistance.

Insurance may cover some of the damage, but people may be missing out on additional assistance if they haven’t registered with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Until a resident registers for assistance, FEMA has no way of knowing who suffered damages or what people need to help in their recovery. Keep in mind:

  • Calling your insurance agent does not register you with FEMA.
  • Contacting county or municipal agencies does not register you with FEMA.
  • Receiving assistance from volunteer agencies does not register you with FEMA.

The only way to determine eligibility for federal disaster assistance is to register with FEMA by phone or online, or by visiting a local Recovery Support Site to work with FEMA’s disaster survivor assistance teams. These teams do not make decisions on applications.

Register at www.disasterassistance.gov or via Web-enabled phone at m.fema.gov. Applicants may also call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). TTY users may call 1-800-462-7585. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. EDT seven days a week until further notice.

For updates on locations, times and days where FEMA teams will be available to provide
in-person support to southeast Michigan residents, visit FEMA’s disaster-specific Web page at www.fema.gov/disaster/4195 and follow FEMA on Twitter at twitter.com/femaregion5.

Before applicants call, go online or visit a Recovery Support Site, they should gather the following information to speed up the registration process:

  • Social Security number
  • Telephone number where they can be reached
  • Address of the damaged property
  • Current mailing address
  • Brief description of disaster-related damages and losses
  • Insurance information
  • Direct deposit information to help speed delivery of funds if approved

Assistance available through FEMA’s Individuals and Households Program can include:

  • Temporary Housing – rental payments up to 18 months for temporary housing for those whose homes are uninhabitable;
  • Repair – grants to repair damage from the disaster that is not covered by insurance. The goal is to make the damaged home safe, sanitary and habitable; and
  • Other Needs Assistance (ONA) – grants for necessary and serious needs caused by the disaster. This can include personal property, transportation, vehicle repair or replacement, moving and storage, and other expenses that FEMA approves.

The application deadline is Nov. 24, 2014.