Texas – President Declares Disaster for 15 Counties Hit by Floods

The US President signed a disaster declaration for 15 counties in Texas for damage caused by the late October flooding and storms.

The declaration means that financial assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency could be available to those whose homes or businesses were damaged by the severe weather that struck the state between 22 and 31 October 2015.

At least 6 people died during a period of the severe weather, including tornadoes and flooding, between 22 to 31 October 2015. The deaths occurred in the Austin, San Antonio and Houston areas. Parts of Austin saw 10 inches (254 mm) of rain on Friday 30 October 2015.  Some areas of Houston saw 12 inches (300 mm) of rain fall during a 24 hour period.

The 15 counties are: Travis, Hays, Bastrop, Caldwell, Comal, Guadalupe, Galveston, Brazoria, Hardin, Harris, Hidalgo, Liberty, Navarro, Willacy and Wilson. Those affected are asked to visit www.DisasterAssistance.gov or call 1-800-621-3362 to sign up for aid.

Earlier this week, Texas Governor, Greg Abbott, declared a the 15 counties “state disaster areas” allowing the Governor to “authorize the use of all available resources of state government and of political subdivisions that are reasonably necessary to cope with this disaster”.