Indonesia – 7,000 Affected by Floods in Sulawesi and Belitung

A period of heavy rain in Indonesia between 26 and 29 January 2017 caused flooding in parts of North Sulawesi and Bangka-Belitung Province. Indonesia’s BNPD says that around 7,000 people were affected and thousands of homes flooded.

North Sulawesi

A long period of heavy rain on 26 January caused the Girian River to overflow, flooding parts of Kota Bitung, North Sulawesi. The rain also caused flooding and landslides in other areas of the province, including Ranowulu, Matuari, Girian, Madidir, Maesa, Aer Tembaga, Lembeh Utara and Lembeh Selatan. A total of 988 people were displaced and 266 homes damaged. In some areas flood water was over 1 metre deep.

Landslides and flooding also affected 11 villages in Gorontalo Utara forcing more than 100 people to evacuate and damaging over 700 homes, some schools and agricultural land.

The heavy rain continued over the next 24 hours the heavy rain causing the Tondano River to overflow, flooding as many as 20 villages in Kota Manado.

BNPD reports that 5,000 people were affected and 1,000 homes damaged by flood water across North Sulawesi.

Bangka-Belitung Province

BNPD also reports that around 2,000 people were affected by flooding in the villages of Tanjung, Sungai Daeng and Belo Laut, West Bangka Regency on 28 January. The flooding was caused by a combination of heavy rain and high tides in the Bangka Sea.

Flood water was as deep as 2 metres in places, flooding hundreds of houses and causing damage to 3 bridges. No casualties or injuries were reported.

Social Media

Flood Summary

Last updated: February 15, 2017
North Sulawesi, Gorontalo and Belitung, Indonesia, January 2017
January 26 to January 29, 2017
Coastal flood, Landslide, River flood
Extreme rainfall


A - Kota Bitung, North Sulawesi
B - Gorontalo Utara, Gorontalo
C - Kota Manado, North Sulawesi
D - West Bangka, Bangka Belitung


River level
Tondano River, Kota Manado - January 27 to January 29, 2017
River level
Girian River, Kota Bitung - January 26 to January 29, 2017


North Sulawesi and Gorontalo - January 26 to January 29, 2017
North Sulawesi, Gorontalo and Belitung - January 26 to January 29, 2017