USA – Arkansas Governor Submits Federal Disaster Declaration for 31 Counties

Governor Asa Hutchinson submitted his formal request for a federal disaster declaration to the Trump administration for 31 Arkansas counties affected by severe storms, flooding and tornadoes in April and May.

“With the completion of the thorough damage assessment by FEMA and the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management, I am now formally requesting that President Trump issue a federal disaster declaration for the the state of Arkansas as a result of the severe storms and flooding that devastated 31 counties and caused more than $13 million in damage.

“I am hopeful that this request will result in some relief for those still reeling from the damage caused by the storms of the last two months.”

Governor Hutchinson requested the declaration for Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Cleburne, Conway, Craighead, Cross, Faulkner, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Montgomery, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Poinsett, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Washington, White, Woodruff and Yell counties.

Governor Hutchinson declared the affected counties as state disaster areas earlier in May. Due to the extensive nature of the flooding and the inaccessibility of certain areas, the in-depth damage assessment for the federal declaration of emergency took longer to complete.

Arkansas Guard Responds to Flooding, May 2017. Credit: Screen grab from video by Spc. Stephen Wright, Arkansas National Guard